Strawberry Orangesicles

May 090

The other day I had to run to Wal Mart to get a fan for the girls room. I had ended up sleeping in their room for the two previous nights in a row and realized how stuffy it gets in there is not comfortable. And you know how well stores are at putting those impulse buys on the end caps? They have people that do that for a living, planning what to put where for most profit gain. Anyway, they got me good. As I was walking towards the fan aisle they had popsicle molds sitting right there. What else would sound refreshing when you are already starting to melt with the Summer heat hitting early?  Now in my defense I had been actually needing some new ones because all of mine were missing at least one stick. And I wanted slimmer ones because Ruby rarely finishes a huge one and I didn’t want to waste a lot of home made deliciousness every time. So with out a whole lot of thinking, I grabbed the 98 cent container. Classic impulse buy. Bravo Wal Mart.

It took about a week before I was ready to dive in to making some frozen refreshments, but the time finally came last Saturday.  The girls and I left for the farmers market about the same time we usually do but I guess everyone else in town got the memo that it is now Summer and they beat us to all the strawberries before we got there. Except for one little stand. They had some that were too soft to sell at full price but because I was just going to be mashing them up for popsicles anyway I took the deal! (As well as some blackberries and nectarines.) When we got home Ruby helped me toss everything in to the blender but she was expecting a smoothie out of the deal. So the recipe isn’t super exact when it comes to how many molds it will fit since each set is different sizing and my two girls had a little snack out of the pre frozen version. But it would for sure fill up 2 of the big “4 pack” molds.  It filled my new mold and 5/8th of one of my “4 pack” ones. If you have any leftovers, just pour yourself a glass. 😉

May 084

Strawberry Orangesicles

  • 4 Cups Strawberries, sliced for easier measuring
  • 3/4 Cup Vanilla Yogurt
  • 1 1/2 Cups Banana, sliced
  • 5 drops Orange Young Living Essential Oil

Toss it all in to the blender and blend until smooth. Fill up your molds and freeze till fully set. To release the prize after being frozen, just run the outside part of the container under some runny water to release it.

Very yummy and I love the Orange flavor the oil adds. Some people may be worried about using citrus oil with plastic molds but I wasn’t because of how diluted it was compared to the other ingredients. If it is a concern for you just skip it and take the orange out of it. Or try adding some orange juice instead. Enjoy!

May 085May 086

Leave a Reply

