Small Steps, Big Change

I started this health conscious journey because of the power of information. As I learned more and was exposed to more ideas, they made sense and clicked with me as I did research for myself. I’ve shared a lot about food on here but I wanted to share a few other aspects that I believe have contributed to my health improving and overall well being as it slowly inclines.

One of the first things I started doing was smoothies which then opened us up to juicing. I still do both and they are a great way to get nutrients in. I know this still seems like food, but sometimes looking at in a different way is helpful. I mostly juice vegetables and smoothies are best with fruit. Vegetables can be easily digested in juice form but with fruit there is a higher sugar content. Now I am in no way afraid of fruit sugars, but I believe the way God packaged them with the fiber on the outside (usually) helps aid our bodies in the digestion and your body gets the most out of it by keeping them together. So smoothies = fruits and vegetables = juice. Doing smoothies every day or even once in a while started changing my taste buds from being brain washed from sugar, fat and salt that food companies worked so hard to do.

Drink more (good) water! There are toxins all around us and in us, this is your biggest helper at flushing them out. (As well as other things!) Good water means no chlorine, and purified if you are buying bottled. Spring water can still mean they are just filling them up from another tap source. Chlorine is not good inside of your body. A tip for how much you should drink daily is take your body weight, divide it by half and there you have it in ounces. If someone is 200 pounds, divide that in half, they should drink 100 ounces of water a day. Add a splash of lemon juice (or a drop of oil) in your water to keep your body more alkaline rather than acidic.

Recently I’ve been taking a pro biotic to help aid in digestion because I bought it after Ruby got off of her antibiotics. So everyone gets it daily now. Your gut is so important for your overall health.

This is probably one of the biggest steps we’ve taken! Back in 2008 I was attending cosmetology school. In class during skin care week one of my instructors opened my eyes up to the many benefits of essential oils. The more information she gave and I read about them the more I wanted to learn about them. I was a newly wed and had visions of oils being diffused in my future home with classical music playing and it being a peaceful serene place. It was a dream to get oils for myself and learn their many benefits first hand. 2010 in preparations for giving birth to Trinity, Ben and I were in our birthing class and they shared about oils as well. They had a few different kinds that were available at the hospital to use during child birth. A few years later in 2013 my sister in law had gotten in to them and was using them on all of the family members for this and that. I knew the company she used was the company I wanted to use but then came the waiting game of fitting it in the budget. I had a few friends that had used “lesser purity” brands and were put off by the lack of results but this company had nothing against them in a large scale of reviews. Purity was their standard.

All last fall/winter we were on and off sick. Attending a church that is world known there are a lot of people here and there are many visitors constantly. The girls would go to Sunday school on Sunday, and then by Monday morning were coming down with something. By the time spring rolled around I knew we needed to use some of what we got in our tax return for a starter kit of oils to support our immune systems and other bodily systems. So that is what we did. Now I have that (somewhat) serene home with oils being diffused, and currently Christmas music is usually filling the air waves.

Summer of 2014 I enrolled as a distributor for Young Living. Sounds formal huh? I read the fine print and realized I could get my starter kit for only $170 by doing so, and in the future I would get 24% off retail for anything else I would ever need. I didn’t have to sign anyone up if I didn’t want to, I didn’t even ever have to order from them ever again. If I wanted to continue getting the discount, I only had to place one $50 order once a year, and this first purchase covered me for a year. Otherwise if I never ordered again I just became in active and there is no penalty for it. So I took the plunge. I signed up under my sister in law since she was the one I had connected the most with about them and to my wonderful surprise I was put in to a great group of people that she was connected with. I didn’t realize it was so important to have an “up line” to help me in my journey and didn’t give it any thought when I signed up but now I am very thankful that I am part of the Joilers! Now I use my oils daily to help aid in different body functions for everyone in our family.

newkit

(This is the current kit, a few oils have changed and I opted for the Bamboo diffuser kit for $10 more)

This is my stash now with the exception of Lavender being upstairs. I use Thieves and Joy every day no matter what. Then the others are for specific things in different family members. I have slowly added to it with birthday money and any other ways that I can, because I believe in them!

Current Stash at Overly Blessed

I’ll list them and a little general description of each one. There is currently a big crack down on Young Living and other oil companies of how we share what the oils do so I will be very careful here. They have so many valuable uses though!

Stress Away- Specially formulated to help relieve everyday stresses and tensions.

EndoFlex- May help provide overall balance and support to the endocrine system and may work to improve the viality of the body.

Frankincense- May help aid in emotional balance, immune and nervous systems and skin.

Thieves- This blend may help to be effective for dealing with various problems related to the immune system.

Pan Away- The oils in this blend may help it be effective for dealing with various problems related to the nervous system and to muscles and bones.

Ledum- Body systems it may help in aiding are digestive and immune systems as well as skin.

Melrose- The oils in this blend may help it be effective for dealing with various problems related to the respiratory system and to the skin.

Peace and Calming- May help to be effective for dealing with various problems related to the nervous system and to emotional balance.

Christmas Spirit- I got this because I’m slowly replacing my candles (that have toxins that now I am aware of, even in my nose) and I wanted something I could diffuse and have smell amazing. But with it being oils my family and friends also get the bonus of them being in the air. This oils in this may help to be effective for dealing with various problems related to the cardiovascular and nervous systems as well as emotional balance.

Peppermint- Is such a good one, and for sure one to always have on hand. Helps body systems like the digestive, nervous, respiratory systems as well as muscles and bones and skin.

Valor- My favorite! The scent is my perfume. Helps the body systems of muscles and bones, skin and the nervous system as well as emotional balance.

Purification- A great cleaner and air purifier. I add a drop in to my cloth diaper wash. May help with digestive system, emotional balance and skin.

Cinnamon Bark- May help aid the immune system

Cederwood- May aid in the nervous and respiratory systems. I got it to make my own blend of oils for Ben to use as cologne eventually, but with added benefits.

Orange- Digestive, immune systems and emotional balance as well as skin.

Nutmeg- Hormonal, Immune and nervous systems.

Joy-The oils in this blend may help it be effective for dealing with various problems related to emotional balance.

Lemon- Has many uses, even for cleaning around the house. But for body systems it may help with is digestive, immune and respiratory systems.

Grapefruit- May help in the cardiovascular system

DiGize- The oils in this blend may help it be effective for dealing with various problems related to the digestive systems.

Lavender- Cardiovascular system, emotional balance, nervous system and skin. It’s upstairs because I use it before bedtime on the girls.

I would love to share testimonies about how these have specifically helped mine and my families health improve, because they are just so good, but I can’t right now until I understand the parameters of how I can share information about them. I didn’t get in to them planning on ever signing someone up, I just want everyone to know their benefits for themselves!

to effective to share

*** These statements have not been evaluated by the FDA. This information is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Leave a Reply

